MySQL - MS-SQL

Discussion forum for PivotCubeX component. Common usage questions. Bug and problem reports

Moderator: Alex Zencovich

MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby TACTICA » Thu May 22, 2008 3:21 pm

Hi,

I´ve created a table with a SQL QUERY that bring a lot of fields of my APP. It works fine with MS-SQL but not with MySQL. I´ve tested the query with the former control that I was using and it works fine.

The error message is : INVALID FIELD SIZE

Invalid Message error 2: List Index out of bounds.

Best Regards.
TACTICA
User
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby AlexZencovich » Thu May 22, 2008 4:38 pm

Hmm, as far I remeber MySQL (5?) has problem with work via ADO when type of field is char. I may suggest you to use cast it to type varchar (same size) it should solve error. Also, check if your query does not return empty dataset - it may als be problem in link MySQL + ADO
Best regards,

Alex Zencovich
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
www.pivotcube.com - OLAP solution for Delphi, C++ Builder and ActiveX environment
AlexZencovich
Site Admin
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:09 am

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby TACTICA » Thu May 22, 2008 4:57 pm

Hi Alex,

I´m working with MySQL 5.

The Fields are VARCHAR.

If i remove fields from the QUERY, it works. But it is a random behavior.

Again, it works fine with MS-SQL.

Thanks.
TACTICA
User
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby AlexZencovich » Fri May 23, 2008 4:25 am

Then try to cast these varchar fields to char (fixed length) in your query. I suppose if field value like null it produce that error.
Best regards,

Alex Zencovich
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
www.pivotcube.com - OLAP solution for Delphi, C++ Builder and ActiveX environment
AlexZencovich
Site Admin
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:09 am

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby TACTICA » Fri May 23, 2008 4:16 pm

Can i send you the MySQL database and queries?

Thanks.
TACTICA
User
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby AlexZencovich » Fri May 23, 2008 4:36 pm

Sorry, I have no MySQL in testing now
Best regards,

Alex Zencovich
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
www.pivotcube.com - OLAP solution for Delphi, C++ Builder and ActiveX environment
AlexZencovich
Site Admin
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:09 am

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby TACTICA » Mon May 26, 2008 7:35 pm

Finally i´ve found a bug that should be fixed.

Working with MSSQL, does not matter if there´s an entire column without data, but there´s a bug in MySQL because if is there an entire column data empty it will crash the app.

Best Regards
TACTICA
User
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby TACTICA » Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:08 am

Any news about it?
TACTICA
User
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby AlexZencovich » Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:55 pm

cast column to char (fixed width) instead of varchar in sql clause
Best regards,

Alex Zencovich
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
www.pivotcube.com - OLAP solution for Delphi, C++ Builder and ActiveX environment
AlexZencovich
Site Admin
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:09 am

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby TACTICA » Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:01 pm

It does not solve the problem, I have to hardcode the SQL query.

The solution that you gave in Mysql does not work neither.

Are going to fix the bug?

Thanks a lot.

Great Product I hope you can fix it.
TACTICA
User
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby AlexZencovich » Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:38 pm

I afraid there is bug in MySQL drivers not in the end product. PivotCube take field widths as is from driver. If it return 0 -we have no chance to know which actual width is.
Best regards,

Alex Zencovich
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
www.pivotcube.com - OLAP solution for Delphi, C++ Builder and ActiveX environment
AlexZencovich
Site Admin
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:09 am

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby rocco » Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:05 pm

instead to ADO try to use zeoslib at
http://sourceforge.net/projects/zeoslib/
rocco
Guest
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MySQL - MS-SQL

Postby AlexZencovich » Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:03 pm

It quite compelx for ActiveX, I think
Best regards,

Alex Zencovich
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
www.pivotcube.com - OLAP solution for Delphi, C++ Builder and ActiveX environment
AlexZencovich
Site Admin
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:09 am


Return to PivotCube ActiveX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron